As you will recall from previous blog entries, over the last 14 months I’ve been slowly researching and writing an article on ‘The Smiling Abbot’: a fragment of early 14th-century effigial slab thought to derive from Valle Crucis Abbey and commemorating Abbot Hywel of that house. I’ve previously posted about the:

Now I’d like to reveal one of the results of Aaron’s photography, which are a vast improvement on my earlier attempts. Well done Aaron, whose observations of the stone have won him a co-authorship in addition to his technical work with the photography.

So I need now to wrap this article up and need only a few more days of work to do so! Hopefully the revised article will be accepted for publication, or else I have an improved article to take elsewhere. Either way, the abbot keeps on smiling!

