IMG_20160829_104417

I’ve seen plenty of urns on 19th-century Welsh memorials, but nothing quite like this one. I spotted it in Llandysilio-Yn-Ial churchyard, Denbighshire. I was on  a pleasant bank holiday walk to take in the Chain Bridge and the Horseshoe Falls.

The urn is stupendous and composed of a buttery sandstone. It looks far from safe balanced on top of a short column, itself surmounting a square plinth with memorial inscriptions on its eastern and souther sides.

IMG_20160829_104434I didn’t get time to properly transcribe the text. Still, from inspecting the photos I took, it seems that the inscription on the eastern side has surviving text tells us the monument was raised to commemorate Rev. Edward Roberts of the county of Denbighshire.

The inscription on the south side commemorates his wife (?Sarah), daughter and co-heir of John Evans Esq.

Sadly I couldn’t make out a  clear date for either of their deaths, but Sarah might have died in 1837. I put the sprog army in merely to gauge the true scale of this awesome urn, implying the ashes of the dead are raised up above ground for all to see. IMG_20160829_104450

IMG_20160829_104502

 

 

