IMG_20160503_154638
Looking west over the Dee estuary. West Kirby and Hilbre Island are in the middle of the picture, Talacre and Dyserth by the plane wing

I have an article in press on the unique Viking Age stone monument known as the ‘West Kirby hogback’.

Want to learn more? I’m presenting my findings at the CBA Northwest spring conference this month in Staining Village Hall (near Blackpool), Lancs, this coming Saturday. See my blog discussions of this monument here and here.

Yesterday, I flew out of Liverpool John Lennon Airport en route to the Isle of Man and passed over West Kirby.

A key point of my article is how it is situated in relation to a maritime landscape, and in particular, has close relationships with sculpture at Dyserth Flintshire. This builds on work done by Richard Bailey, Nancy Edwards and David Griffiths among others.

Seeing it from the air made my point in a striking fashion, looking across the Dee Estuary from the air helps me to conceptualise what one cannot appreciate readily from the land. Not only does West Kirby frame the entrance into the Dee estuary, it is situated (as was the nearby trading site of Meols) on a key coastal Irish Sea maritime highway.

