IMG_5338
My twins at Maen Achwyfan, near Whitford, Flintshire

All monuments appear different depending on the time of day, the weather and the season.

I have been visiting Maen Achwyfan to get photos that might be suitable for the book cover of the project I have been co-editing. I visited today with my twins in hope of gaining photographs in direct morning sunlight of east-facing C. However, instead, I entered a world of fog only one field away from the monument. For the duration of my visit, it didn’t shift. I went back two hours later and found the same result.

This was a real pain for my original intentions but also an opportunity to capture this monument clothed in mist, lacking a modern perceptible landscape. For me, this is thought-provoking in imagining multiple possibilities of how the monument may have originally been situated. In the mist lie many possibilities: chapels, churches, burial grounds, or simply different options of vegetation. Of course, I couldn’t fog-away the railings and the immediate environs, but the weather inspires thinking and the imagination at this 1,000-year-old early medieval cross.

Here are the results.

IMG_5329
Approaching uphill from the west

 

 

IMG_5286
Face A

 

IMG_5318
View from the north, with bird flying off

 

IMG_5262
Face C in fog

 

 

