IMG_20141222_132144Greetings from archaeodeath for the first time in 2015.

I have had a seasonal holiday break packed full of celebrations through the medium of food. I have been worshipping at the hallowed altars of the great mince pie god and his many edible sprout-saints, as well as thwarting the evil parsnip demons who every year threaten to spoil the festive fun.

I am now back with an update from the archaeoden of death.

What is there to say since my time at the Theoretical Archaeology Group conference beyond gorging on festive grub, entertaining the family and the usual seasonal illnesses that abound?

  1. I have been busy dealing with second proofs of the Archaeological Journal volume 172 part 1 out this month online with Routledge (Taylor and Francis).
  2. I have been editing resubmissions following peer-review of articles for publication in the Archaeological Journal volume 172 part 2, due out online in June 2015.
  3. I have also been busy finalising the resubmission of an edited book, now contracted with Boydell & Brewer, as blogged about here.
  4. If this ain’t enough, I have been writing about stone sculpture, literature and landscape, and (of course) issues of mortality.

A retrospective look back at 2014? It’s gone now, read the blogs, or forget about it. Let’s look forward… What does archaeodeath have in store for 2015? More archaeology, more mortality, more material culture, I can guarantee all these in varying combinations. Some how, in some way, it is all summed up in this way:

I received a fabulous pressie this December for my birthday: a t-shirt. The slogan of the hit TV-series The Walking Dead and good ‘ol Rick Grimes with his gun featured, with the locked doors from inside his hospital behind him, with the words ‘DON’T OPEN, DEAD INSIDE’. This image fills me with optimism and with a direction of dealing with the year ahead. I intend this t-shirt to guide me in my approach to archaeological research but also in my stance towards a return next month to teaching undergraduates and Masters students after an 18-month hiatus. I may even use it to direct me in how I will deal with colleagues…

Welcome back to archaeodeath and a belated Happy New Year to you all!

