???????????????????????????????My pal from the world of archaeological art and Facebook – Kelvin Wilson – recently directed me to this fabulous website with photographs of some of the desks of the greatest writers and artists of recent times. I like my work office but my home office – my archaeoden – has been demolished to make room for child sleeping space. Instead, I am in the garage or mobile on a laptop.

Still, I cannot help but yearn for a Temple of Peace like William Ewart Gladstone had at Hawarden Castle. Here’s a picture of his desk, and below it, a photograph of him using it or a similar one. At least Gladstone had the sense to have the earliest impressions of the Archaeological Journal on his shelf, a publication I am proud to be editing my fourth volume of at present.???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

